

MEMORANDUM FOR PAWNBROKER APPLICANTS

Enclosed is an application(s) for an original license under the *Alabama Pawnshop Act*. One application must be completed for each separate location. When completing this application, pay particular attention to the following:

* Two <u>certified</u> checks must be enclosed: one check for \$50 per location and one check for \$100 per location. Personal or company checks cannot be accepted. Make checks payable to the STATE BANKING DEPARTMENT.

* Credit Report Release forms must be completed for each owner, member, director and officer, as applicable. Each release must be signed before a notary, who must affix his or her seal.

* ALEA "Application To Review Alabama Criminal History Record Information" forms must be completed for each owner, member, director and officer, as applicable. Each release must be signed before a notary, who must affix his or her seal.

* The application must also be signed before a notary, who must affix his or her seal.

* Verify that all attachments are included with the application. Your application will be returned if incomplete.

Finally, be advised that all information submitted with the application must be accurate. Inaccurate information will be grounds for license denial or revocation.

The Department has 90 days to process your application. We will contact you if we need more information. If you would like confirmation that we have received your application, then enclose a duplicate copy of the application and a self-addressed, stamped envelope, which we will return to you upon receipt of your application.

A copy of the *Alabama Pawnshop Act* is available on our website at: <u>www.banking.alabama.gov</u> under "Laws".

If you have any questions, please contact our office at (334) 242-3452.

Please mail the application and all requested attachments to:

Alabama State Banking Department Bureau of Loans P. O. Box 4600 Montgomery, AL 36103-4600